for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

12 January 2003 - 19:02

egyptian lights

As the auction shifted to the remains of the furniture on the far wall, I went over to the large woman who had bid card #33. A number she shared with another large woman, of the same height, face and glasses (wife thinks sisters?).

And asked her about the string of Egyptian Christmas lights she won.

She didn't even know she had bought them. She wanted the bedding in the large box. We dig through the boxes to find the lights, and I asked if she would consider selling them. (Dreading that she would ask too much, 'cause after all the donuts, hotdogs and coffee, the wife and I probably had less than $10 on us in cash.)

Her answer?

"No."

But she would give them to me if I helped load their merchandise into their truck.

I readily agreed.

Only then did she ask if the lights were collectible.

I showed her the "Made in China" stamp on the plain white box.

I don't think so.

But I also should have been leary. Or should have at least paid attention to how many times #33 had been called out as the winning bidder.

She started pointing out their purchases to me. Scattered all over the corner of the room.

They were the ones who bought the wicker porch swing. And the two matching wicker chairs. And wicker coat rack. And old metal porch chair. For the porch they eventually plan on having built around two sides of their house. After they get the windows all replaced. And the roof fixed. But first, they have to get a fence built to keep the dogs in.

These ladies plan ahead.

They also had the old tree lamp, the small chest freezer, three or four boxes of bedding, the tv stand, a box of picture frames, a wood table. And a host of other items I no longer remember.

Lady number two pointed these out to me as lady number one went to get their truck, which she fortunately was able to park directly below the loading dock.

Lifting the freezer would have been a major pain (literally).

We gave up on the wicker furniture. That would have to wait for a second trip. But I (read I) filled and packed the entire back end of their old pickup. With a little help on the fragile glassware.

The auction was nearly done by the time I had completed my part of the bargain. And she gladly kept hers.

Wife smiled as she saw me finally coming back to our seats with my well-earned lights. She had guessed what was going on.

#33 walked by as the wife and I were waiting to pay. She told the wife she was certain she got the better part of the deal.

But I have my Egyptian Christmas lights. And they work.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home