for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

13 January 2003 - 23:59

shoplifting a cake

I remembered almost immediately after the wife went out the door this morning. She couldn't have even made the first turn one block down yet.

So I called her work number and left a message on her voice mail. In the hopes it'd be the first thing she heard to start her workday.

It wasn't, but she appreciated it, just the same.

Wasn't until after I got the sage grouse wing data in the mail, as I was walking home with the heelers, that it struck me.

Flowers.

Flowers would be good. Even though she'd said she didn't want anything for this special day.

Just a new bed, you remember?

So the roses were ordered. And since the florist knows us, or more importantly, the wife, the roses were on her desk in less than an hour.

Which happened to be break time at work. Which just happened to remind all those folks of the celebration they had planned, and even brought goodies for, but had forgotten.

Meanwhile, after errands at the bank and the jewelers (for a new watch battery for me, silly... she said she wanted a new bed, remember?), the heelers (the sisters and their Mom... she always comes along on these trips) and I made our bi-monthly sojourn to the landfill with 20 (I counted) bags of household refuse.

The town's garbage mound at the baler was at least five meters high. Had great fun heaving bags up on top. Heelers were quite disappointed that the other lady wasn't there at the gate.

The one who gives out dog biscuits.

I mean, what do you think we came along for, man? To watch this guy fling trash?

Then it was off for the cake. Was so tempted by the double chocolate fudge, but the wife loves cream cheese, and they had a red velvet with cream cheese frosting.

Okay, but she says I should have gone chocolate.

As I waited in line at the check-out, the manager called me by name. And motioned me into her empty register.

Yes, sometimes it's nice to be known. The grey-haired sacker had trouble getting the cake pan into the sack, so as I finished helping, he slid it into my hands. And I grabbed my bag of clementines and headed out.

Only to hear the manager quietly, but in shock, call out "Hey, that'll be $24.78!"

Ohhh. Oh, you want me to pay money for these?

The folks next in line chuckled, as they held onto the cake they also were buying. Don't know how red I was as I apologized, but I don't think the manager will forget.

Sometimes it's not so nice to be known.

Wife says she's gonna ask the manager about catching me shoplifting the next time she sees her.

On the way home, as soon as I hit the Interstate, I notice three heeler faces staring at me.

Staring hard.

Of course! I forgot the most important part of the dump trip. So, at our exit five miles later, I turn around. All the way back into town.

And they got their double cheeseburgers (plain).

And of course, I forgot the cards.

Grab up sons at home and back we go. We have rarely shopped for the wife together, and it was actually fun. Ended up finally settling on six (yes, six) cards. Card companies are getting a better crop of writers these days.

So, that was her special day. Mexican dinners from our favorite (and only) local restaurant, red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting (heelers love cream cheese frosting... the masked heeler didn't wait to be offered any), six cards, a couple small presents, and watching the DVD for Blade II.

I think she liked it.

Now, about that bed...

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home