for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

09 November 2002 - 23:50

across state

I was about ten minutes late in taking off for Feral Horse Town Thursday morning. So I had no business stopping to take pictures of a mediocre sunrise.

But you know I did.

And it didn't stay mediocre. Got so colorful I had to stop again at the north edge of town.

The colors raced across the sky, and I had to stop again, six miles further on, to capture the pinks over Bradley, and the bright banks behind me.

Then it was on to Regional Town, where I dropped off the fur and skull collections I used in Coal Mine Town. And picked up the unread sage grouse wings they had collected in their barrels.

Unlike mine, these wings were nicely frozen. In the old walk-in freezer, used to store all the confiscated or collected wildlife parts no longer needed for enforcement cases.

Stepping and kneeling over several frozen bears, a mountain lion, mule and whitetail deer, and a small elk to retrieve a box of wings.

No wonder the heelers gave my jeans, particularly the knees, several intense sniffing sessions when I got home.

Then it was north, to the extreme northern edge of our state.

Now, as far as I know, our state only has three highway tunnels. All one after the other, as you enter the Wind River Canyon from the south.

We once made a hundred-plus mile detour on a trip back from Yellowstone, just because a little boy wanted to go through the tunnels. Having his Dad honk the horn while inside, just as mine did.

Then through the canyon itself.

With its dusting of snow on top, like powdered sugar on a bundt cake, and its frozen waterfalls.

As I spent the rest of the morning traveling north through the basin, I spotted the snow-capped peaks of a part of the Yellowstone country on my left.

And the closer, equally white Cloud Peaks on my right.

Got to the luncheon meeting just barely in time to say some hellos before we began.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home