for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

14 March 2006 - 23:47

choice of meetings

So. Two meetings scheduled for tomorrow.

One hundred and twenty-one miles apart.

Don't think I'll make it to both.

One, the farthest, is an annual event. Almost always a pleasure to attend, and has been scheduled for over two months. Probably 70-80 percent of what is discussed will have nothing to do with me. But quite a few of these folks I only get to see and visit with once a year.

At this meeting.

The other, just six miles away, I didn't hear about until last Friday. Mainly local folks, apparently thrown together at short notice, probably half the discussion will be things I'm interested in or involved with. And there's a good chance it'll turn contentious.

Figured I'd best go to the local meeting. Even though that wasn't my personal choice.

Well, the boss called this morning. They want me at the distant, annual meeting.

First, because most of the folks who will be at that meeting are early in a two to three year process that has been taking up so much of my time for two years already.

He thinks they might benefit from my experience.

And secondly (I suspect this, but he didn't say), because the people who set up the local meeting have known about this big annual meeting for two months, and selected that day for their meeting anyway.

Which looks like maybe they intentionally did not want any of our bosses to show up.

Ooookay. Long drive for a fun meeting, or a short drive to a rough one.

Long drive, it is.

I didn't argue with his decision. Means I get to check strutting grounds on the way up, too. (If I get to bed soon, that is.)

And speaking of the long drive, finally finished the entry for Monday of last week, which will be the same drive I take tomorrow:

two-hour commute

And this was on the return leg...

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home