for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

06 March 2006 - 22:59

two-hour commute

A daylong meeting in Regional Town. Two hours away.

A bit of a commute.

And, because of different scheduling (involving a wedding for one), I and the two local wardens all had to drive ourselves. No carpooling this time. Nothing was pre-arranged, but I wasn't surprised when I saw one of the familiar green trucks pull onto the highway just ahead of me. And he wasn't surprised when I radio'd "Good morning."

"Where are you?"

Second truck behind you.

But no response from the third member of our convoy. Not until we were nearing milepost 19.

He was at 12.

But barring any unforeseen delays, we should all make the meeting on time.

We won't ask how the fellow who started seven miles behind the other two managed to pull into the office parking lot first, not quite two hours later.

A long commute. For just a day's meeting for me, two days for one of them, and a day and a half for the other. But a pretty commute.

It was along about here that the front warden announced "I've got your front door."

And the warden behind replied, "And I've got your back door."

I knew what was expected, but stayed quiet.

"That means you're in the rocking chair," came the explanation from up front.

I know the lingo. But we watched the Oscars last night, and after seeing all the clips from Brokeback Mountain, well, I had a different kind of image running through my mind when the guy behind me says he's "got my back door."

And so it went, for over one hundred miles.

Now, I've been making this exact same commute for over a quarter-century. And I am surprised, and ashamed, to realize that I never noticed we had such a good view of the Absarokas from our route.

'Course that mountain range (pronounced "ab-sore-kas") was only visible from a couple high hills on the highway, but still...

If I hadn't been looking for images to share, I probably still wouldn't have noticed. And to think, at that moment, there was another of us, making his regular long commute, with those mountains as his scenery all the way down.

The two-hour commute home alone after the long, enjoyable meeting was quiet and lonely.

But still beautiful.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home