for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

28 April 2004 - 23:54

unit at 216

We were about five to ten minutes late leaving this morning. I had to really resist the urge to set the cruise control just a little high to make up some time.

But didn't.

As I neared my exit off the interstate, I was surprised to see my headlights light up a cop car in the median. Sitting dark, which they rarely do. Sitting outside of town, which they rarely do.

Then my radio boomed out, so loud that it had to be the enforcement vehicle I just passed.

"I've got the unit at 216," the officer reported to a second patrolman.

No way! I'm at 216. And before he's finished announcing his finding of the unit in question, I've double-checked my speedometer.

76.

Which the GPS usually tells me means I'm actually going about 74.4 to 74.6 mph.

But it's too dark to see the GPS readout at 05:19 in the morning.

My eyes fly to the mirrors, expecting to see lights come on as I hit my exit.

They don't.

Turns out they were after the semi that I pulled in front of as I entered the highway six miles back. Cop reported the driver was not10-55 (under the influence), just sleepy. Patrolman had him pulling off at the next exit "for some coffee, rest and a little sleep."

Hopefully not in that order.

But the panic adrenalin had me awake for the rest of our drive.

This morning was the fourth, and perhaps last, run of the standard lek route in the dune country. Despite my strict adherence to the speed limit, we got to the first lek on time, and watched the sun preparing to rise as I made my counts.

No problems on the other five leks on the route, although the birds' enthusiasm seemed to be tapering off early. Total of 212 cocks (if I remember right), which is down slightly from the 228 last week. Which suggests we've passed the peak attendance for males, and it is time to stop running the route.

Managed to get to one other lek before it was too late in the day. And this is the rear end of one of the cocks that stuck around to give us a show.

Temperature when we left town this morning was a balmy 52 degrees. Unheard of at that hour in April.

Now it is snowing.

Heeler sisters and I spent the evening out on the rim winter range, in the light rain, looking for more elk carcasses. Hadn't been there for two weeks, and felt it was time to get back to it.

Found four more in four hours. Puts the butcher's bill at 326 documented losses, but they're still pretty easy to find. Best guess is the total is somewhere around 400-500.

So.

I'm tired. Too many consecutive nights of little sleep. It is late. I'm still fighting the virus that attacked on Saturday. We've had only a little rain and a smattering of snow, but the forecasters all say blizzard conditions tomorrow, with treacherous highways.

Do I sleep in tomorrow (or, today, now) and stay home?

Please say 'yes'.

As a bribe for a 'yes' vote, here's another shot of some frosted phlox blossoms from last week.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home