for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

05 May 2002 - 23:21

leks checked

The alarm went off at 04:30 Saturday morning. Jumped up and got water started for coffee, and then snuck back into bed for 15 more minutes of sleep while I waited for the water to get hot.

One hour and ten minutes later I woke again.

Chit.

Heeler sisters and I were on the road by 05:51. Fortunately we were off to finally check Scottys Peak lek, which is only about a dozen miles from town.

On the drive down the county road, I had time to reflect upon an email I had read earlier in the week. The minutes of the monthly office meeting, which I almost always skip, since there are rarely things on the agenda worth the 127 mile drive. Why spend four and a half hours driving to and from a one-and-a-half hour meeting?

My compadre to the north had congratulated the office crew because, with their help, they had checked 83 of his known 85 strutting grounds. Yes, with himself, two wardens, two bosses, several volunteers, a couple University researchers and at least two federal biologists, they had checked 83 strutting grounds.

When I did my April reports, I also had to summarize my progress on lek checks.

104 leks checked.

'Course I had help, too.

Two heelers.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home