for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

12 February 2002 - 10:49

fall numbers

Spent the last few days of work summarizing all the field checks I made last fall, and then forwarding the data on to the appropriate people.

Thought the fall was kind of quiet and slow, and the numbers support that:

189 pronghorn

145 mule deer

1 white-tailed deer

29 elk

1 moose

1 bighorn sheep

Low deer and antelope checks are a result of low herd numbers, and our therefore conservative hunting seasons. When populations were high and the seasons more open, I had several times when I checked more than 200 deer in one day. Now I wasn't that busy all fall.

Elk herds are still at near-record highs, but the dry, warm fall slowed down harvest. I have had days when the weather was right when I checked more than a dozen in a day. I think my best day this year was three elk.

Makes for a more enjoyable fall season, but when I look at all the hours and miles spent, this doesn't seem like much data.

On a less boring note, I made a new discovery while spending so much time at the dining room table adding up all those numbers...

I chug several mugs of what I call poor man's cappuccino (rounded spoon of Folger's instant coffee with two heaping spoonfuls of Nestle's Rich Chocolate cocoa mix) every morning and afternoon. I have now found a wonderful way of flavoring that mix.

Add two Creme Savers.

Strawberry, orange and raspberry are all good. Haven't bothered with the Caramel-Chocolate yet. Going to start trying to mix flavors soon.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home