for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-07-27 - 2:53 p.m.

doctor visit

Got distracted by the electrified redtail hawk episode and forgot to mention some things about the doctor's visit on Wednesday that I want to retain.

Got to the office early, which is unusual, and found the waiting room empty. Also unusual.

Receptionist had my file out, but still asked what I was there for. I explained about having a dark spot removed.

"I don't think he can do that for you today."

Whoa! You're not gonna tell me I shaved for nothing!

Usually I'm Mr Accommodating, but not today. I tell her "Well, that's what I made the appointment for."

So she goes back, I assume to check with the Doc.

Comes back and starts entering data in her computer.

"Mr. Grouse, where is this mole you're having removed?"

This across the waiting room. Good thing it's empty, lady.

"In the pubic hair." I reply. Just as loudly as her request.

"Or is that more than you need to know?" I ask a little more quietly.

She nods her head, "Well, yeah."

If you don't like the answers, then don't ask the questions.

In a little bit the medical assistant comes out to ask me a question. She's even younger, and cuter.

"Where is this mole we're removing?"

I'm sitting facing her, so I just simply point. Exactly where the "mole" is. She gets all embarrassed and turns back inside without a word.

I hear giggling in the back. And serious discussion. I'm betting they were drawing straws on who has to "prepare" this gentleman for surgery. I'm considering mentioning this lack of professionalism to the Doc. He and I are friends, outside of the office. If this room wasn't empty, it could be embarrassing for the patient.

Apparently, the Doc drew the short straw, because the ladies both skip when I'm shown into the surgery.

Doc mentions he just finished "catching a baby." His term, not mine. No wonder they're in a time crunch.

He was relieved to see I had already taken care of the shaving. Probably saved 10-15 minutes of his time.

I did not watch him cut the patch out. Had a huge (6 cm diameter) lipoma on my leg once, and watched the whole procedure as the skin was peeled back and it was cut, pulled and scraped out. But not today. Did watch the stitches go in.

Had a great visit with the Doc through the procedure. On elk hunting, hospital politics, the new stupid golf course and the sprinkler system for his office lawn that he is installing himself. Volunteered to help with the sprinkler system, which was probably a mistake, 'cause he'll take me up on it.

After the appointment, went home and picked up eldest son and treated him to a latte at his shoppe. Stopped by the wife's office to let her know we were in town.

"Why?"

We gotta find more time to talk. Either that, or she's got to start reading this diary.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home