for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-07-26 - 9:36 a.m.

no JP3

I got cheated out of my last chance to Jurassic Park III in a theater last night.

Our theater changes films on Thursdays, so last night was it for JP3. We had plans for going, and I was in the middle of scarfing down leftovers for dinner when I heard the knock on the door.

"Dad! It's for you!"

Never good to hear when you're hungry and in a hurry.

Two kids out playing on their ATV found a hawk stuck inside a power facility.

Like, as in a power station? Big hot wires and insulators all over, with high security chainlink fence with three strands of barbed wire on top?

Yep. One of those.

So, off I go. Warn the wife I probably won't be back in time for the movie.

I wasn't.

It was an immature redtailed hawk. Sitting inside the fence, looking kinda pissed. Also looking at the top of the transformer next to him, wondering if he could hop up onto that to get over the fence.

Instant electrocution if he does. An owl tried that in this same substation a year or so ago, and took out power for the whole southern portion of the state.

Really.

I could climb the fence and grab him, but that would probably not be wise. I call the Sheriff's Office. Presumably they know how to get ahold of the power company guys in an emergency.

Nope. Dispatch gives me the toll free emergency number that they have to use. Call the service. Press '1' because it "is or may become a power emergency." Then press '2' because there is no power outage, but is a circumstance which may result in a power emergency.

Bridget comes on line. I explain who I am, where I am, and what I've got here.

"What's the address?"

Oh, no. I've been through this with city people before.

"There is no address. I'm just north of such and such town, in Wyoming (there Trinity! Did you see it!). It's substation 1201, breaker 5H856."

Anyway, I ought to write more here, but this is taking too long. I have a young redtail in my pet carrier who needs to go to the Audubon folks in Central City. I just stuffed him with pork, and we need to go.

But at least you know it has a happy ending.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home