for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

25 October 2008 - 23:58

a tad breezy

Another day sitting alongside one of our busiest highways, waiting for deer and elk hunters to stop by.

I had three elk checked, with samples taken for CWD, before the first hour. I didn't even have time to read the comics.

It was three hours before I saw another dead critter.

But still, a well spent day.

Six CWD samples, and lots of hunter encounters. Several that lasted close to a half hour each.

Just 'cause they were bored. Or saw that I was.

One of the other days this fall that I sat right exactly here, a nonresident asked, "Is it always this windy here?"

What? This light breeze?

He thought I was kidding. But today, we had wind. When I opened the tap on my water jug to wash my surgical utensils, the water stream was literally coming out of the spout horizontally. I had to hold the tongs and scalpel off to the downwind side to get them wet.

After parking, I watched my signs twisting in the wind on their reflector posts, and had to drive up to block them in with twice the normal number of rocks.

The heelers got all excited, thinking we were going home already.

And midway through the morning, I noticed movement out of the corner of my eye. And looked to the west (upwind).

At the snowfence.

Yep, the wind had ripped up the anchor for one of the panels. Which spent the entire day trying to rip up the anchors for the next panel, like a row of dominos.

Just a tad breezy.

If the wind had started to actually blow hard, I mighta gone home.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home