for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

26 July 2007 - 11:32

desperately seeking... a monkey

Apparently at least one major telephone directory service lists phone numbers according to the time they were subscribed, rather than alphabetical. For months I have been receiving random calls for our outfit that have nothing to do with me, or even this part of the state. Just folks with a general question (which the outfit wisely has a toll-free number for), but somehow when asked, the directory service refers them to me.

Just now, a call from a woman who says...

"I'd like to buy a monkey."

You know, I've never had anyone say that to me before...

"Is it legal?" she asks.

Before I can respond, she continues, "I mean, I know it's not legal in Salt Lake City, but I don't live there. So is it legal here? All I want is a little one, that you can fit in your hand. I've tried to find them on the internet, but had no luck."

"Do you know where I could buy one? Do I have to order one overseas?"

Ummm, I'm afraid I'm not the one to help you. But we have a 1-800 number, and they might be able to answer your questions. Or direct you to who can.

And the woman goes happily on to the next phone number, in search of her hand-held monkey.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home