for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

17 November 2006 - 23:57

zero leonids

None. Not one.

'Course, I forgot all about the Leonids peaking this evening until 21:45, a good hour after the best show was supposed to go streaking through our atmosphere. And when I went outside...

Clouds. Covering at least 75-80 percent of the sky.

Craaap.

Stuck around in the back yard for a few minutes, and then decided to head out. The refinery sometimes puts out enough steam to give the town our own special cloud bank.

By ten o'clock I was parked at the kiosk four miles north of town. The town and refinery a thin sliver of lights to the south, and otherwise I was in darkness.

And under clouds.

Craaap.

By ten-oh-five I was being checked out by a deputy sheriff.

Yes, really.

He was polite enough, asking what I was doing out here alone, in the middle of nowhere. And didn't ask for any identity papers, or anything.

I recognized him, but not being in uniform, or the outfit's truck, I'm pretty sure he didn't recognize me.

Hence the pause for a minute or two after he pulled away, but before re-entering the highway. Presumably running a 28 on my plate.

Guess we don't have any outstanding parking tickets or warrants, because he went on his way to the river, where the high school kids like to host their keggers and bonfires.

Ten minutes later, he was passing again, headed back to town.

By ten-twenty, the sky was half bare of clouds, the Milky Way a gentle smear across the dark gap.

My hopes were up. I wanted just one Leonid falling star to make my night.

I didn't get it.

Not even one.

But hey, not all is disappointment. On an idle whim, I slipped in to check out the Old Faithful webcam this afternoon. After weeks of ignoring the site. And just happened to catch Plume geyser in the middle of an eruption

Cool.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home