for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

11 July 2006 - 23:51

curious passer-by

In their instructions on running Breeding Bird Surveys, the Patuxent folks warn you that you might encounter curious passers-by.

Happens almost every year. More so, now, with all the energy traffic.

On my first route, had three rig hands headed back to their motel/home stop to see if I needed help.

Out there in the desert, it ain't quite normal to have trucks parked alongside the road, with somebody standing next to it.

But, no, I'm fine.

On the 50th and last stop of the same route, as I waited for my thermometer to finally settle down and tell me the air temperature, a fellow hauling drill bits that he hoped to sell at the rigs stopped for the same question.

Nope, just countin' birds.

"Which ones?" he asks, sincerely.

All of 'em!

With just a hint of a smile on my face.

And off he went to peddle his wares, sealed in heavy plastic wrap in the back of the pickup.

Did I mention I found a drill bit welded to the top of a headstone in our cemetery when I was chasing the bear around last month? No photos, of course. I was kinda busy. And doubt if I could find my way back to that grave. But clearly, a rigger proud of his occupation.

My second BBSroute passes through two oil fields, but these are well established, with only a maintenance crew maybe once a day. Rarely have any passers-by pass by.

Not last week. On Stop 29, as my three minutes of watching and listening wound down, I became aware that I had company. A curious passer-by, who was wondering just exactly what this truck was doing stopped on her road.

And came calmly walking up, just to see.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home