for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

05 June 2005 - 01:59

city fit

This I picked up from Jen:







American Cities That Best Fit You:



75% Honolulu

70% Denver

65% Austin

65% Seattle

60% Atlanta


Which American Cities Best Fit You?

All I can say is... ummm, no.

Okay, admittedly, I've only been to one of those five cities. Could never live in that one. One or two of its suburbs, maybe, if I had to.

But Austin? I mean, that's in Texas! Both Bush and Cheney moved to Texas. It can't be good.

Besides, it's flat. Yes, my beloved desert is pretty much flat, too, but there's mountains all around it, almost always in sight.

That matters.

Seattle? Well, I don't know. Probably too wet and too green. Probably full of trees, too. Would love to see it, though.

Atlanta? Ever since I was in high school I knew I wanted to move only north or west. Atlanta is neither.

And then there's Honolulu. It was top on Jen's list too.

My first thought is that this test is put forward by the Honolulu Chamber of Commerce. Especially since I specifically stated I would want to live in a city with all four seasons. Including cold winters.

Never been to Honolulu, but I bet Honoluluans' concept of "cold winter" is significantly different from mine.

But then, without asking Jen about her answers, I suppose there might be another explanation. As with all of these quizzes, they asked you to rate the importance of certain things to you.

Since we're talking about cities, they asked about urban things. Theater, restaurants, entertainment, mass transit, museums, jobs, availability of love interests, apartment living. All the things that usually rank high with people who like living in cities.

I mean, why else would people live there? Naturally, being already happily in love, employed, and perfectly willing to live without theater, museums, and buses, those things didn't rank high with me.

They also asked about crime rates and air pollution, which I both want to be low. Which tends not to be common in most cities.

So, what I gather is this.

Honolulu has fairly clean air, and not a lot of crime.

And it also has very little of the amenities that most city dwellers like to find in their cities. Which means, as cities go, Honolulu might be kinda crappy.

The ocean would be nice, though.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home