for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

15 October 2001 - 23:11

our song

Hard to believe.

I'm listening to Country music. By choice.

Hate Country music.

Wife does, too.

So why is our song a country song?

And why does our song have nothing to do with our meeting, our courting, or even our bedding each other?

One of the benefits of working at home is that, when you decide to take lunch, you can either read (my usual choice), or grab your food, flop on the bed and watch TV.

Did that quite a few years back and hit a movie on HBO with an absolutely stunning redhead. So I stayed.

Her name is Isabel Glasser.

The movie was country, True Country to be exact. With George Strait playing a big country western singer.

What a stretch.

Came in in the middle, but I stayed all the way through. A great story, a real tear jerker.

Literally.

Something that has come over me more easily after being married to the wonderful lady I have.

Anyway, the next time we hit that film while channel surfing, I made her stay. And watch it all, uninterrupted.

We were both quite wet-eyed when it was done.

It was that day she realized her husband likes chick flicks.

And I Cross My Heart is the song at the climax of that film. And has a wonderful memory for us. We never said it was our song, but it is.

They played our song at the wedding reception in Nebraska in August. When I recognized it, I turned to ask my wife to dance. But she had already jumped up to ask someone else.

Can you believe it? My wife asking another man to dance to our song?

Of course, it was my Dad, so I couldn't get too upset. But I was. And, of course she was just getting her promised dance in with him so he and my Mom could retire for the night, as they were beat.

But still, it was our song.

Razzed her about it as we danced the next set. She hadn't recognized it until after she had already asked my Dad.

Well, True Country has been making the rounds on TV again. And we have watched it a couple times.

Isabel Glasser is still stunning.

And the wife bought George Strait's True Country cd while on her shopping spree with eldest son.

Eldest son stacked it in between two other cds, so no one would know they were buying country. And so it would not touch his fingers.

When I dug it out of the bag this evening, wife asked if I got the other one, too. A second new cd in the bag.

Gaelic Storm, the band in steerage in Titanic. She said it was something to listen to when I couldn't stand the country anymore.

You mean like after just two songs?

"Maybe a song and a half."

Made it all the way through the cd. Barely.

Gaelic Storm is on now. For the second time through.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home