for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

05 October 2005 - 23:31

check station oddities

No, Jules, this

is not a three-antlered deer. That's just an illusion from the flash on the camera, making it look like there's a separation when it's just shadow.

This...

is a three-antlered deer.

An oddity that I'm sure I've seen before, but I can't remember when or where. But yeah, it's rare.

Unlike a drop tine...

which is actually a pretty common abnormality with deer antlers, and with elk.

This season I did see something I've never seen before:

Near as I can tell, that mass growing on top of that buck's muzzle is velvet. The soft, hairy tissue that grows antler inside. This was a mule deer trying to grow a rhino antler, like some pronghorn. But near as I know, ancestors of mule deer never sprouted an antler in the middle of their face, so I have no idea where this comes from.

And it's not a papilloma, a fairly common skin wart caused by a virus.

These are normally harmless to the animal, and eventually drop off. 'Bout the only time they can be a problem is when they grow someplace vital, like over the eye.

Which may have put this buck at a disadvantage when hunters took the field.

And have I mentioned keds yet this year?

At least with deer from this south country, the infestation seems to be a little high this year. These "keds" are actually insects, not closely related at all to ticks. Although they also survive by sucking blood from their host. The only good news, as I've explained plenty of times this year, is they're fairly host specific. A deer ked may bite a human, but it ain't likely to stick around to suck your blood.

"Course, this little piece of wisdom provided little comfort to the young woman frantically picking the numerous keds off her dead deer's muzzle as I tried to check her tag and its teeth.

I guess if it was riding inside the same SUV as I, I might try to pick them off, too. But I told her I didn't think she should throw her keds out upwind of my truck.

"Why? You said they don't bite people." was her response. As I watched smugly as several keds burrowed back under her buck's fur near its eyes, irretrievable.

And it's not just deer that produce oddities, or what some hunters call "freaks".

A pronghorn with a twisted horn isn't as uncommon as you might think.

And I usually see one or two "longhorn" bucks a year.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home