for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

23 July 2005 - 23:59

wounded knee

I've already expressed my opinion about Spielberg's Into the West mini-series. Now a month and several episodes later (of which, I admit, I haven't seen all of, or even close to all), I freely admit I'm happy it will be over tomorrow.

As will the commercials.

And you don't even want to hear my thoughts on Spielberg's version of the battle at Little Bighorn (or, Greasy Grass Creek, depending on your point of view). Once I saw he had Custer splitting up his command while still in camp, I knew his interpretation was going to be bogus.

So, it was with a heavy load of skepticism that I watched parts of episode six last night.

And all of it again tonight.

Rather than flying through various events of the settlement of the West, he limited this final episode to a few months in 1890.

The Ghost Dance. And the subsequent massacre at Wounded Knee.

And, pretty much, he got it right.

This, I could not believe. And began to wonder if my memories of that shameful chapter in America's history were faulty. Checked online last night, and again today.

Nope. I remembered most of it correctly. And Spielberg got it right. Except for a few little details, to keep his lineage story line straight, I assume. And except for maybe being a bit more charitably fair towards the Seventh Calvary than they deserved.

It's on again, tomorrow night (tonight, now). Even if you've foregone the rest of the series, this one's worth watching.

Oddly, I am less informed about the second conflict at Wounded Knee, the one that occurred almost a century later, during my sophomore year. But I remember the support on campus for the AIM members under seige, and the day students gathered up a caravan of food and medical supplies for them on the Oval.

Report was, the FBI photographed all the vehicle plates and supporters' faces from offices in Old Main.

And so, tonight as the sixth episode ended, my eyes wet, I mentioned that day to the wife.

And that the FBI probably has a file on our Maid of Honor.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home