for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

08 May 2005 - 20:35

from the top of a truck

One of the things I learned early in my years of finding and counting sage grouse on their leks is that in the flat desert where they tend to be found, just a little additional height can make a big difference.

Trucks are tall. And hardly anybody looks to see if there are bootprints, dents, or scratches on top of the cab. So, I often improve my counts by climbing out the window or door and standing on the roof.

At one lek one year, I nearly doubled the count of a couple federal employees who were parked right next to me, sitting in their warm, comfortable cab with coffee and donuts. Just by standing on my truck.

So, from my notes this past week:

Tuesday:
24 males; not see all in tall sage
44 males; from top of truck

and on Thursday:
44 males; not see all in tall sage
74 males; from top of truck

And now, the point of this entry...

A couple views from the top of my truck:

( 6 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home