for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

01 February 2004 - 23:59

tallies and answers

Okay, last fall's tallies:

221 pronghorn

367 mule deer

47 elk

2 white-tailed deer

1 moose

1 bighorn sheep

1 wild turkey

I have no idea whether that's down or up from previous years. It was, however, the first wild turkey I'd ever checked. And before our drought got so severe, the number of antelope that I would check in a year usually outnumbered the number of deer.

I have been rather negligent in answering queries in my comments section this past month. (What am I talking about? I have almost always been negligent in addressing people's questions... but this is a new year, so...)

First off, to Melissa and Kim: Thank you for pointing our my 92 answers entry actually had only 91 answers. Somewhere along the way, I deleted question #3, which was asking how many pillows a person uses.

I use one. Or three. Depending upon how one defines the word "pillow".

To My Sister: Yes, the "Charlie" blocks is what I was remembering.

To John: Yes, I remembered to fill the gas tank before returning the rental car to the dealer. Took all of three minutes of the eight minutes I had available before closing time. Interesting thing was, shortly after I started for home, the gas gauge started going wonkers, bouncing from half full to past full, so I didn't really know if I had enough fuel to get home (kinda important in our country in winter). Another "quirk" the dealer forgot to tell me about.

To Melissa again, and Trinity: Thanks for the kind words on this image. But I feel obliged to point out, that's the Tetons, which are not in Yellowstone (unless you mean the "Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem", in which case you should ignore this comment).

To Mz Em: I don't know if those bitterroot flowers are as small as they look. How small do they look? For reference, each of the petals is probably 2-3cm long, the larger grains of gravel in the background are maybe a quarter-inch across.

To Morgan: You didn't ask any questions, but I have one... when are you going to post your recent experience with the wolves?

To Ian: No, I have no problems with you using my bison/Teton picture for your desktop picture. But that brings up a point I probably should be making all along, here. I post these photos for people to enjoy, and to peek into my world. But they are still mine, and I would appreciate never seeing them reposted anywhere else, or used without my permission.

To Deb and Renee: You both asked about game warden requirements and pay. Well, I found a recent announcement from our outfit for the latest game warden's exam (sorry, we're a couple weeks too late to get registered for it), with the requirements and starting salary:

Principal Duties/Responsibilities: Primary responsibilities include wildlife management data collection and analysis, enforcement of game and fish laws and regulations, evaluation of damage to crops and livestock by wildlife, acting as local liaison between the department and the public, and watercraft safety enforcement. A substantial amount of training and all equipment is provided.

Salary: $2,012 to $2,519 /month dependent upon duty assignment.

Minimum Qualifications: Completion of college coursework at the baccalaureate level in game or wildlife management, biology, zoology, or other closely related field.

Deb also made the correct assumption we have been watching the "band reunited" show on VH1. Yes, and I think it is the best form of "reality" television one could come up with. No artificial premise or settings, just an effort to reunite defunct '80s bands for a one-night gig. The Flock of Seagulls reunion was most touching, since it provided a reproachment for two estranged brothers, obviously enjoyed by their mother. But we got our biggest kick out of the camera crew sweeping into the one prosecutor's office to find a member of the Alarm, only to have one of his co-workers shout out, mistakenly, that he was on Cheaters.

And that's enough answers for one night.

Today's Grouse Pic is exactly that. A picture of two strutting sage grouse, squabbling over the exact placement of that imaginary line between "mine" and "yours". Just a reminder that strutting season is only a month away, now.

Oh joy

( 4 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home