for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

13 January 2004 - 00:36

13th image

Today is the 13th of the month. And it is time for another Grouse Pic, which would happen to be number 13. So I figured it ought to be a really special image.

Got some wonderful sunsets and sunrises ready to go here, as well as photos of flowers, horny toads, ants and antelope (and yes, more deer). But it occurred to me that such an auspicious occasion called for something more than that. An image captured from some place really special.

Yellowstone.

So I started browsing the files from last spring, when we miraculously managed not one, but two trips to that wonderful piece of country. Looking specifically for a good shot of Old Faithful I knew I had, or maybe the reflections on a perfectly calm Lake Yellowstone.

And then, there it was. The perfect 13th photo, for the 13th of this month. The most precious thing I have seen.

The wife.

Immersed in the geyserous fumes of the Upper Geyser Basin.

I joined her in this steam cloud shortly after taking that shot, nestling the camera protectively under my arm. We got steamed in Mother Nature's breath several times that day in May, but the day after is the one I remember the best. Besides so many geysers synchronizing their eruptions for us around noon, some of which rarely erupt at all, we showered in their rain many times, soaked to the skin in warm water tinged with a hint of sulphur. To the amusement of so many tourists, none of which jumped in to join us.

I take off my glasses now, and I can still see it. The fine reticulated pattern of Yellowstone steam, etched into the lenses by the mildly acidic showers that day.

Sorry I will be gone today, off being trained how to drive and to not sexually harrass, and then playing, I mean working, on snowmachines in the high mountains.

Happy 13th, my love.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home