for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

19 April 2003 - 12:27

snow day

(We're going to try this again. Lost power about four hours ago, right when I was in the middle of an entry. Had to back upstairs and read the papers in bed with the wife and the heelers. Horrors.)

So, what had I been trying to say?

Well, first off was the fact that I was sitting there writing at ~08:30 in the morning, having just gotten up maybe 15-20 minutes earlier.

Yeah. We got a snow day.

The wife leaned over the bed and gentle shook me awake late last night, as she and the heelers were all settling in to bed after their last out. She warned me, if the heelers felt a little wet, it was because it was snowing. Big, heavy wet flakes that already covered the ground.

She said this like a mother telling her boy he has a temperature, and may not be going to school tomorrow.

My hopes were up.

And after my alarm went off at 04:45, my hopes were confirmed. A good 7-10 cm of fresh, wet snow.

No lek surveys this morning. Back to bed I went. With absolutely no complaints from the heeler sisters.

When I arose more than three hours later, I saw the wife's alarm clock flashing. (Hers is electronic, rectangular, and digital with an annoying buzz. Mine is hand wound, round, analog, and loud.) So, we had lost power. Restored about three hours ago, it seems.

And, of course, by the time I logged on and told the world (or at least, you) about my wonderful sleep in, we lost power again.

Time to save this one, while I still can.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home