for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

03 April 2003 - 19:32

buddy list

I almost dreaded clicking that link.

The one that says "Your buddy list".

Been neglecting my readings. Been busy (the 13-hour days tend to wear on you), and been spending considerable time watching the war news.

I am just amazed at the civility of the exchange between Iraqis and American troops in the street just down from the mosque in Najaf... several news channels tried to portray it as a protest against American troops, but it was the most incredible sign of civilized behavior, on both sides, that I can remember in this war. What could have turned out so horribly wrong, simply because of a misunderstanding, did not. Because an American commander kept his cool, because American soldiers were willing to lower their guard and place themselves at risk rather than harming civilians, because Iraqi religious leaders were willing to physically stand up to protect American soldiers, and because common Iraqis, who thought they were protecting a religious site, were willing to do so with their bodies, but not with violence. I have more hope for the post-war future of that country now than I have had at any time in the past two weeks.

But anyway, back to my diary discussion...

Also lagged in my readings behind because it is spring break, and I now have to contend with two, not just one, sons at home all day who want to be on the internet. For hours.

So when I clicked on that link, I got all the red diary names that I expected. Diarists with updated entires I haven't read. Four of which listed new, unread entries that were four days old.

Four days? Has it been that long (time passes quickly, I guess, when you spend your night sleeping in the cab of your truck). And I am feeling a little guilty to admit I was happy to discover many of you have also been negligent in updating. Guess we all have things going on. Suspect we're all watchin a little more news these days, too.

But the real bummer about it all?

Three,

I repeat... three

of my favorite diaries have chosen this time to leave Diaryland.

Damn.

Yes, I suppose I will try to keep up with them at their new locations. I care about these folks.

But truth be told, that hasn't worked too well with others who have left the system. Yes, I keep tabs on those folks, as best I can, but almost never on a daily basis.

Damn.

I'm so bummed about this, I think I'll skip the updates I was hoping to write. And go watch more war news, or maybe the Voyager episode we taped last night.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home