for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

29 March 2003 - 23:48

street lights - 8 march 2003

It was twilight when we entered Botticelli's in Central City, so when we came out, I was quite surprised to find

lights still on all the downtown trees. It was unseasonably warm, with no snow (although that changed two weeks later), yet the lights still managed to give the downtown a holiday atmosphere.

Now, I need to apologize for the blurred photo above. I really, really wanted a picture of the wife's SUV as they drove past me down the street (parking was difficult, so I got booted out to take my tree pictures, whilst she, eldest son and her godson circled the block). But I got a little concerned about the traffic bearing down from behind me, and didn't hold as still as I should.

I also didn't get another photo that I really wanted.

You see, like many progressive communities, Central City has replaced a lot of their old glass bulb street lights with LEDs. And they have followed the trend by also replacing their pedestrian walk lights. But theirs are a little different. At least new to me.

They have a countdown clock besides the international symbols for Walk and Don't Walk.

Big, LED-lit numbers that count down from nine seconds to one, before the light changes.

Does anybody else have these?

I mean, I can see these as a safety feature, letting folks know how much time they have before the light changes. But in truth, pedestrians have the right-of-way, and in this city, I suspect they get it, regardless what the street light says.

What I want to know is, do the countdown lights increase accidents and near misses?

I mean, I can see kids standing there on the corner, daring each other to not dash across until the count is down to three, or even two. Maybe even one.

Heck, I know I would.

Not to mention all the cross-traffic drivers that can sit there and watch the countdown until their light turns green. Getting that half-second jump on everybody else as they anticipate their right to claim the intersection.

I don't know. I would like to talk to someone in the Central City street department, just to see what their accident rates have done since they installed those countdown lights.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home