for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

17 October 2002 - 22:46

browsing

Okay, so I've got no idea for an entry at all for today. So a brief summation is all I've got.

Fellow who returned the tranquilizing rifle confirmed it when he called first thing this morning. The warden who borrowed the equipment did not stick around to use it. He simply loaned it to the people I had refused to loan it to. People whom he knew I had refused to simply loan it to.

He was too busy to do the job himself, went hunting instead.

Not happy about this.

And the gas well road will probably go right where they've got it staked. We've compared notes with their fancy GIS and my simple digitized maps. They will be just barely outside a quarter-mile from the huge strutting ground.

Hope like hell it's a dry well (our Nation's energy needs and claims by Wubya to the contrary). Otherwise the first road is usually the main trunk road for any subsequent wells.

And nobody drills just one well when there is gas down there.

Fellow from Ohio called to ask about 160 acres he is thinking of buying in our desert.

As usual, the promoter (can't honestly call him a seller) is hyping the hunting opportunities that would come with this land... specifically antelope, deer and elk. (Those of you who know where I am, search eBay for the name of our main community, and you'll see his land sales come up).

So I explain that he could apply for limited antelope and elk licenses, and a regional deer license.

Same as any other nonresident.

With exactly the same, lousy drawing odds.

Our state does give preference for hunting licenses to landowners, even nonresident ones, but in addition to having to be at least 160 acres, the land must provide at least 2000 days use per year by the species in question.

That's either 200 antelope for 10 days, or 10 antelope for 200 days, or whatever combination you can make fit.

In the desert, 160 acres doesn't do it. Even the best 160 acres out there. On average (I did the math), looks like you need about 800 acres to even hope to qualify (13,000 antelope spread out over 3000 square miles).

Elk or deer would be worse.

So, I don't think he'll buy.

Spent most the working day reading the fed's documents. And taking notes. Actually not a lot of errors (yet).

And a couple hours on diaries. Mostly caught up on my dailies, now working on the rest of you, and you independants (and the ones on that "other" site (I'm too lazy to link)).

Oh, and Kim? I hope nothing dramatic has been happening in your life for the past week or two. Your new script immediately causes a "fatal error" in my antique browser. Good thing you're alphabetically last on my list, since you're always the last link I can follow before it all comes crashing down. (And I mean that literally. Hit your link and "poof", I'm looking at my wallpaper. You should market that.)

You're really, really going to make me break out that other browser, aren't you?

I am actually staring to enjoy this new spam. The artificial, randomized names can be entertaining. If I was looking for baby names right now, I would start by reading these. Some are good.

And all are labeled as **SPAM** now. What's with that?

( 6 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home