for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

11 June 2002 - 23:37

talking to owls

Visited the owls again after the walk to the post office. Both owlets were up on a window ledge, enjoying the cooler day. They are still fuzzy, but the white down is wearing thin and you can see the adult colors of grey, brown and rust showing through.

Lunch, in the form of a deceased, half consumed cottontail, was laying on the other window sill. First large prey item I have seen there. Suspect the parents are moving the kids up to bigger foods. Sort of like shifting babies from pablum to nibblets.

Heeler sisters and I were standing in the grass median, besides a large lilac, as I quietly spoke to the owlets across the street. And was surprised when one of our town residents stepped out from the other side of the bush, camera with telephoto in hand.

He has been watching them for some time now. And is also worried about how they will fare when they fledge out onto the sidewalk, and adjacent main street.

Don't know if he talks to them.

The results of the Diary.net Awards for the first quarter of 2002 are out.

I didn't win.

Disappointing, yes, but not surprising. I want to thank Melissa for nominating my Bonded entry. One of the few entries I immediately considered deleting, and it seems to have struck a chord with some. Perhaps I should write more entries worth deleting.

Certainly got a lot of new hits from their site, from all sorts of countries. I noticed most folks were just like me, reading the nominated entry and not bothering to hit any other pages of the diary.

Got a neat link image out of the deal, though. I love the red and brown colour for this year, and you notice it fits well with my colour scheme. Think I'll keep it up for a while.

Thanks, everyone.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home