for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

19 May 2002 - 12:19

The Highwayman

This entry was inspired by one of you. You will know who you are.

I had just gotten tired of listening to Living River by Rawlins Cross, and needed something different when I got to your diary.

Watermark it is. It was only 3 or 4 discs down in the pile, since it had been on repeatedly last week.

the book of secrets was right on top of Enya's cd. After spending a day or so spinning last week. This was my first Loreena McKennitt cd, purchased to get the popular Mummers' Dance." But that is not my favorite track on the disc.

I got out the lyrics and read along with the songs on my first listen to this cd. Something I rarely do. And I did not read ahead, instead reading each word as she sang it. Again, a first for me.

Perhaps I was inspired, or guided. But as Loreena took me through the story of The Highwayman, I was surprised to find tears running down my face. I have been moved by music before, but never like this.

Got the wife to take her first listen to The Highwayman the same way. Reading each word as it was sung (since Loreena's voice is not always clear the first time through), not allowing yourself to scan ahead.

Her response was the same.

If you have never heard this song, I recommend it. And do not just listen. Get the lyrics, and read along. Never scanning even a word ahead.

I promise an experience worth the effort.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home