for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

17 January 2002 - 23:24

tangelos

I suspect we live in a special place.

Had to go into town to pick up the wife after work (the new rig is in the shop getting the radio installed, and I had a funeral to attend, so I had the Explorer and she was wheel-less), so I stopped by the grocery store to see if they had any clementines in yet.

Nope.

But boxes and boxes of "tangelos."

Now call me naive or reclusive, but I've never had a tangelo.

So I ask the produce guy, someone I have known since he was still a kid in school, when they're going to get more clementines.

I get this stunned, "what planet do you live on" look as he explains the season for clementines is over.

Damn.

"But we have lots of tangelos, they're just as good."

Never had one, at least not to my knowledge.

So, he drops the tomatos he's working on (not literally, but you know what I mean) and comes over to the fruit section.

And picks out an apparently perfect tangelo, whips out his knife, slices it in half, and then carves off a chunk for me to taste. Getting juice all over his hands and the floor.

Delish. Not a clementine, but close. The rind goes into his waste box on the cart of tomatos.

Okay, so I'll buy a crate of tangelos. And I hurry to the check out so the wife doesn't have to stand in the cold too long waiting for her ride.

Yes, I know the average American supermarket probably throws away tons of unsold produce every month. And the idea of handing out free samples to promote sales is hardly new.

But that's not why he sacrificed a tangelo. He knew they were enjoyable to eat, and wanted to share that with an acquaintance. And was willing to take the time from his work to do just that.

I don't know. It seemed remarkable to me. And to the wife.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home