for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

03 January 2002 - 22:56

24 degrees

Wife's godson came over and spent Thursday through Saturday with us. He was bored enough to call and ask me for a ride over, rather than waiting for the wife to get off work and pick him up.

He had the sniffles.

But he was sure he was past the infectious stage.

Right.

So the wife and I spent most of yesterday and this morning in bed. Together, with three heelers. Feeling miserable. Hence no entry yesterday, and not much tonight (already medicated myself (Alka-Seltzer-Plus, half dose) and I want to enjoy the medicated sleep as much as possible).

Did still have to drive youngest son to school, giving the wife a pleasant break, but she made all the soup, so we're even.

But I find it interesting that, while I have rarely been sick, and even more rarely taken days off for being sick, that a surprising number of those days have been the second and third of January. I am not, and have never been a partier, so we're not talking hangovers here. It's just that events seem to conspire to hit me right after the holidays (no big mystery...that's when the germs get spread around the most).

The second and third of January have also been some of the best days of my life. When we had surplus bighorn sheep to spare, we always started transplant operations on the second. Sometime I will describe sheep trapping, which I have rated as the third most fun activity a human can do.

But not tonight.

Haven't read any of my regulars for days, but from the news I suspect some of them are experiencing some unusual weather. Hopefully with no serious problems.

But this morning, as I drug my dripping sinuses out into our dry air, I was amazed at how warm it was. Checked the thermometer on the porch, and it said 24 degrees (Fahrenheit). It was positively balmy compared to the 8 degrees below zero we had yesterday morning.

A month ago, 24 degrees would have seemed frigid.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home