for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

31 December 2001 - 16:44

silly string

We had only a few items left to buy by Christmas Eve. A birthday present, anniversary presents, and Silly String.

Shortly after lunch my Dad announced he was heading to the grocery store, for milk. As in almost every previous year, that means he is also "sneaking" out to buy a birthday cake for my Mom. (Imagine being born on Christmas, and having to share your special day with Jesus of Nazareth. Now imagine having to also share it with a twin sister. Bummer.)

But what this means to us, her family, is always having to try to get a birthday cake during the middle of Christmas shopping. Have you ever tried to grab one of the bakery people on Christmas Eve, and ask them to letter a cake? I have. Sent one young gal running from the store in tears a couple years back (Really. Literally. Should tell that story some time.)

Oh, and the cake cannot be chocolate (my sister won't eat it). Having it decorated with poinsettias is always nice, and fortunately fairly easy this time of year. Good thing she doesn't love lillies, or daffodils or something else that blooms in the spring.

Went to Safeway this year. Extremely nice lady in the bakery department promised to get all the words ( Happy Birthday, name & Mom,and Merry Christmas) on one little 8" cake (and she did). But this isn't about the cake.

I went off to find Silly String for a niece. And some Senior Cycle dog food for the heeler mom. Took forever, but I found one can of Silly String. For four bucks.

Okay, I can live with that.

By the register I found my Dad and the bakery lady. She had heard what I was looking for, and had led him to boxes and boxes of Silly String on special up front.

Two for $5 the sign said.

Okay, twice the fun for another buck. Back my can went, and I grabbed two cans of the special.

Watched carefully as the checker rang the items up (they occasionally accidentally double swipe items...you need to watch) and sure enough, two charges for $4.99. I pointed out her error.

No error. The sale price is only for folks with a Safeway card. Everybody else pays full price. At $4.99 a can.

"Do you have a card?"

No. (There isn't a Safeway within 100 miles of my house, lady, why would I have your card? (Of course, I later find out the wife does have one! Why?))

"Would you like to apply for one?"

(This on Christmas Eve, with almost all registers open and at least six people backed up behind me. Are you insane, lady? Despite the best holiday spirit, these people would string me up by my yarbles, and I wouldn't blame them one bit.)

No. I'll pay the full price.

(It's only money, after all.)

And then the Christmas Spirit spoke up, in the form of the young woman in line behind me.

"He can use my card."

And I did. I've seen my wife do the same kindness to out-of-town folk in our grocery store, but did not expect that kind of behavior in a city of a quarter-million people.

So I got some change back on my ten dollars.

The green stuff went into the red Salvation Army cauldron outside. Had to stuff it in. The ringer said it's been a good year.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home