for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

18 September 2001 - 23:00

sign, fold & stuff

Every year for the past seven or eight years I have asked hunters to turn in the front two incisors from the elk or deer they harvest in several of my herds. These teeth are sent to the lab, a thin cross-section taken from the root and dyed. With a microscope, the lab can count the annular rings in the tooth and tell how old the animal was.

It's a way of monitoring the health of the herd.

To get these teeth, I mail small envelopes to each of the license recipients in these areas. With a letter explaining the request. The lab will also notify the hunter of the age of their animal.

Other biologists do this. And all moose hunters in the state receive a similar request. But these are standardized form letters, sent out with the license.

My tooth request letter is a little more personal. I include a few tidbits about the management of the herd involved. And each letter is addressed to the individual hunter, rather than "Dear Sportsman."

And I personally sign each letter.

Over 700 last year. Just over 500 this year.

I think the personal signature helps with getting hunters to assist in the program, and I have received several comments to that effect.

So yesterday was spent drafting the letters, relearning mail merge (simple, but hard to remember when you only use it once a year) and sorting the hunt area license databases. And today, my poor printer has been working overtime printing. Roughly 50 seconds per letter (I timed it).

And I have been signing, folding and stuffing those letters.

Which wouldn't be too bad, except I know a lot of these folks. So it would seem rather rude not to give them a small hand-written note.

So I do.

This is essentially like sending 500+ Christmas cards. Most folks just get the signed card, but many get a quick note in addition. It really adds to the time.

Only 63 done so far today.

And tomorrow I have to start setting out my wing barrels for the Saturday opening of the sage grouse season.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home