for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-07-09 - 10:30 a.m.

sweeping enthusiasm

4 July 2001-1

Mess hall procedures call for each group to have two members (and usually a leader) clean their group's tables and sweep the floor before being excused. I've been doing this for quite a few years now, and have figured out the most efficient way to clear dishes, wipe the table and benches, set the benches up on the table, and then sweep. This is being done in quite crowded conditions (while dining, servers have to step up on the benches to get through the room. There is no space between tables or benches to walk).

With all the foot traffic, there is little point in just sweeping the floor by your table. Crumbs from the neighboring tables will get kicked and shuffled into your floor space. The efficient move is to sweep all the way to the neighboring tables and grab up their debris before they can stir it around.

I was in the process of doing this when a leader I had never met came up and shook my left hand.

"I've been watching you all week" he said, "and I've seen the enthusiasm you put in every thing you do. I just wanted to let you know."

And then off he went back into the crowd.

Wow.

I mean, Wow.

I'm an amateur at this, still trying to learn how to get it all done, how to know what is really important.

I have roll models for this position. My predecessor in our 80-year old group. The recently relocated leader from the Elk Mountain group (grab him up, San Diego, he's a gem). My wife. People who truly have it all together, with passion and understanding. The leader of the Tempe group had a lot to admire as well.

Clearly this man in the mess hall had never met any of these people.

But just the same, it felt good.

I bent over to hide the wetness in my eyes and resumed sweeping.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home