for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-06-25 - 12:18 a.m.

not jackalopes

I rarely take peeks at Guestbooks when I cruise through other people's diaries, but I should. Often, those are the best reading.

Anenigma has a guestbook that allows her to enter responses to each entry. Really nice feature. I've received several nice comments that I would like to respond to. This entry will have to do.

Badsnake tried to envision my office with the new poster of a buxon Lara Croft on the wall. Sorry, hasn't happened, ain't gonna happen. The outfit that hires me also pays rent for office space, so this room is technically a work place. So I am careful not to put up anything that could be considered contributing towards a "hostile work environment."

Really.

Of course, other than the wife and the heelers, the only female to come down here is the local warden, and I doubt she'd be upset. But just the same, Angelina Jolie will have to go elsewhere.

The bedroom? Bet not.

Perhaps I will loan her to the boys.

I should mention there is still a small Playboy calendar on the bulletin board above my desk, partially hidden behind the list of our official holidays.

Miss August 1983.

Put up before anyone worried about what was and was not proper in a work place. Think there's a grandfather clause?

Once I got to her, the calendar never got turned over or taken down (except once when one of my nephews tried to steal her).

Trinity, whose new banner I just saw, has left several nice entries. In response to her main question, the answer is "yes." If you want to know why I don't come out and say it, read this entry and think about point #12. Or read the above about my calendar and ask your husband about point #11.

She and several others have asked where in the World I am.

Don't know what to say about that one. Western United States, Rocky Mountain region.

When I started this journal, I had to decide what I would and would not put in it. I could be really personal, like so many others, but then I would have to keep the work references out.

There are only 21 people in this state who do what I do. I know all the other 20, and they all know me. Same with all of their bosses, up to #1 boss. So if I decided to talk about my work (which I obviously have... I think that is the most interesting, that is what I want to be able to go back and read and remember, and that is what I choose to share), once you know which state I'm in, it is a really simple matter finding out who I am.

So, with no likelihood of anonymity, you will never read about our sex life here, nor see vicious personal attacks that I do not want to be held accountable for. There are lots of other good diaries that do that if you're interested.

And besides, I have already told you where I am. Over a dozen times. Just not directly. Pischina stalked me down with a few hints, and Dawntreader figured it out on her own.

And if you really, really have to know, and don't want to go through all my old entries looking for some pretty obvious clues, then check out Whinybutt's profile. We're in the same state, although several hundred miles apart. (By the way, if I read my stats right, I suspect Whinybutt is an occassional reader here... so, Hi Kim!)

And while I'm on Trinity's entries, I have to mention... we do have snipe hunts here (as do most of the United States). Really. Seriously. Last year the season opened 1 September, closed 2 December.

Have never hunted them, and suspect I never will. Love their courtship sounds, and think they are really neat lookin' birds. When he was younger, youngest son loved snipe. He wore out the back of my bird field guide to the page with a snipe on it. I believe "snipe" was one of his first ten words. I eventually gave him the book so he could have his favorite snipe picture. We slogged through several marshy swamps with him on my shoulders so he could see snipe on their nests.

I liked it better when they were called "Wilson's snipe." Changing their official name to "Common snipe" just seems to make them, well, more common.

And I really don't want to pick on Trinity, since I enjoy her diary and her life, but the plural of antelope is antelope (although some professionals would disagree with me on that one). Just like the plural of elk is elk (not elks, unless you're talking about the Lodge fellows) and more than one deer are deer. And while I'm on it, it's a herd of bison, not bisons (or worse yet, calling them "buffalo" or "buffaloes". When he was about five years old, the youngest son corrected a Park Ranger in Yellowstone who said "buffalo"... really proud of him for that.)

And yes, they are pronghorn, not pronghorns. And if I could ever find more than one at a time, they would be a herd of jackalope, not jackalopes.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home