for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-04-29 - 6:05 p.m.

Sharing thoughts.

This is not the usual author speaking. We are the unusual type of couple that doesn't keep secrets from each other, so I was just introduced to and read all 60 entries of my husband's diary. Very nice to relive some memories, definitely not anything to worry about, as I first did when he told me about his diary - he had told me that he was reading other diaries, but did withhold the penning of his own. Having read the entire diary, I found a few other things he had not shared, but with the exception of one withheld to spare my emotions, most were just because we don't have the opportunity to just talk to each other all that often.

Sometimes it is just an inconvenience, other times cause distancing between us. Nothing major, but with schedules that keep us running most of the time, even getting to hear about the other's day becomes a rarity.

One of his comments about being online and cutting into the boys' Everquest time has certainly caused it's share of miffed, surly teenagers. And this is certainly not what I figured he was online doing!

Good thing he wasn't at church today since I was tongue-tied and babbled through part of one verse (I'm not even sure what I sang were real words) and missed two lines of a cant. Don't know what got into me but it must have been catching as the deacon messed up part of the gospel as well. I even thought to myself that I was glad my other half wasn't there to hear the goof-ups. I must have turned red enough to be seen from the altar.

I don't get to accompany Grouse into the field anymore (partly due to other obligations and partly because of "policy"). I do enjoy hearing descriptions of his trips to the country as they lighten the spirit. The sisters' truck chasing worries me though, as I fear close encounters with a tire. Yesterday Grouse called to find out the itinerary for the morning (I had tried to tell him about it the night before but he wasn't in the mood for verbalizations - I called him "Grouch" then), and I could hear the sisters in the background as they circled the truck (shades of Indian/wagon train encounters from old Westerns), their barking soft and distant, then getting louder and louder until they passed the open window and began to fade again. They did sound like they were having a blast.

Something to add to one of Grouse's entries (the one when he spends the night on a lek) is from the heeler's point of view. They must figure that he just found somewhere else to sleep and they waste no time filling up his side of the bed. Of course, the next night they give him looks like "Why don't you go sleep where you were last night? This spot's taken!". I'm pretty sure they figure he's just around to drive the truck.

Well, one of those obligations is here again, so I'll go make dinner and leave Grouse's diary alone for now. It was fun to catch up on what has kept him up so late on so many nights (just so you get your work done, Grouse!). Thanx for letting me sit in for a time.

Grouse's "angel"

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home