for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

2001-03-24 - 01:17 p.m.

Oscars

Just finished reading rip-tv, and the comments on the Oscars and had to relay a conversation with my wife this morning. We were watching a CNN show where the critics were making their own evaluations on who would win some of the big five Oscars. And we noticed we had not yet seen any of the candidate movies.

None of them. Not from Best Picture to Best Actress to Best Actor to either of the Best Supporting roles. No Gladiator. No Chocolat. Are we out of it or what? The latest movie we watched was on video last night, and that was Princess Mononoke. Still trying to figure out where the princess was.

The closest we've gotten to the Oscar candidates is promo clips in ads, visits by the stars to the Tonight Show and now the example clips on all the critics' shows. Based on these, I don't vote for Gladiator for anything. And I agree with rip: Gillian Anderson gets best Supporting.

Now it isn't like the movies didn't come here. They all did (I think), some even on opening night. I remember the theater manager hustling us to come back the next night to watch Gladiator on its last night in town, but I don't remember what movie we were leaving. Well, Chuck, it looks like the majority of the country agrees with you... apparently a good movie. I suspect we'll wait for it to come out on cable. Probably not worth the rental price for a video.

We've done this lots of times before. Never saw Titanic in a theater. Never rented it. When I finally caught the second half on HBO, I realized maybe that was a mistake. Good film. Not great, but good (wife disagrees, still chides me if she catches me watching it). I should mention part of the family saw it in a theater. Son #2 and part-time adopted foster son #3. They were partially thrilled: "DiCapprio dies!" Good endorsement for any film.

Well, anyway, this isn't the entry I wanted to write, but most of you know how it is... I just had to get it out. But I doubt we'll be glued to our sets tomorrow night.But I'm sure I'll check in now and then, if only for the sexy gowns.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home