for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

03 May 2011 - 23:00

we need to talk

There were probably 15-16 of us in the room, seated around a ring of tables. Most people there knew each other, some for many years. One fellow biologist I'd first met on his Master's project, over 30 years ago.

Only two females.

One, young and eager, worked for the outfit in Capitol City, though I don't think she and I had actually met. She was probably second-in-command of the meeting.

The other, I'd wildly guess in her thirties but could easily been late twenties or well in her forties (I am so hopeless at aging females after they reach an adult stage), was the consultant hired to run us through this process. She began by apologizing for her origins... she is a Greenie, from that state to the south, but also Dutch.

Ooookay, Dutch we don't mind, but a Greenie?

So she starts us off with introductions, at the far left corner. My neighbor biologist gives his name and job.

And she asks, "And...?"

Turns out we're supposed to tell who we are. Which cannot be done in a sentence or two (just look at peoples' Twitter profiles). So she settles for a "favorite movie".

He names a classic Western.

And around the room it goes. It is not surprising, yet still disappointing that all favorite movies are Westerns (High Noon, True Grit 1 & 2, etc.) or war movies (Black Hawk Down). One boss, the highest in the room, begs off with having no one favorite, and since he's the highest, she lets it slide. But she asks, "Then what do you do with your free time?"

I cannot for the life of me remember what she said was her favorite movie, but that leaves only two more people before we get to me. The next, young, fellow draws cheers from the room when he says "300".

Well, craaap. "The Princess Bride" just ain't gonna fly after that.

I follow the boss's lead (who I knew when he worked in this town, by the way) and beg off without any one favorite (honestly).

But, I add, if you need to know, I spent most of the past weekend watching Wills and Kate get married. Over and over and over again.

She laughs, cause yeah, the media coverage was hard to avoid.

No, I mean, I enjoyed it.

Our Dutch lady pauses for a second, then leans forward, pointing a finger at me.

"You and I," she says, "we need to talk!"

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home