for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

04 November 2010 - 23:15

a november sunset

I found this spot by accident a couple years ago. I'd been chasing a young buck deer with a couple yards of chainlink fence attached to his antlers through town, trying to get close enough for a tranqilizer shot, and this high ground seemed the perfect place to watch for him.

And I noticed... the perfect view of Elk Mountain. And the hills to the south and east.

With not one powerline, the bane of scenic sunrise and sunset shots.

So, as I finished gasing up the wife's SUV (I had to take the little maskless heeler to the vet yet again. The good news is she does not have diabetes, nor pancreatitis.) I see the snowbanks on top of Elk Mountain glowing red in the sun's last rays. I look at my watch. Still five minutes before the wife said she'd be ready to leave work. I race out of the gas station and turn left, then right, then left again.

Past the little house where the heeler sisters' Dad lived. Across the street from the even tinier house where the eldest son's wife kept her family clothed, fed and warm.

And up the hill.

I missed the glowing red snowbanks.

But the clouds to the south weren't bad.

I tried to imagine what that horizon will look like in four or five years, with lines of huge wind turbines standing guard over the town.

Or endlessly marching down upon us, depending on your point of view.

And there is a jingling at my belt. Struggling to reach under the seatbelt, I find a text message from the wife.

"Ready when you are."

I type the word "Cemetery", and hit Reply.

I am racing past our plots at 13 mph when I get another annoying jingle under the seatbelt.

"Deer?" is all she asked.

Well, yes, there are at least seven deer that I can see amongst the headstones. But they all look healthy, no droopy, sick ones like the eight we've lost to an adenovirus in the past month.

This last message of hers I don't answer. Besides the fact that it is now illegal to text while driving in our state, I will be there in almost the time it would take me to type an answer.

A left out of the cemetery, another left and then a right, and she's getting in the car.

And updated on the latest on our ailing heeler.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home