for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

21 September 2010 - 23:41

coupless

Looking back, this is rapidly appearing to be a photographic journal of just sunsets and rattlesnakes.

Sorry, but here's another one...

I was headed down the ridge, back to the truck that wasn't far away, yet would take a thousand tense, cautious steps to reach, when I saw it.

One large rattler, crawling slowly up the slope towards the rocks that would give it shelter for the night, and coming winter.

It hadn't seen me yet, and afforded a couple "natural" snake pictures before I pushed my luck a little too much and, poof, it turned into a coiled, inflated fury.

With venom at one end, and a buzzing baby's toy at the other.

But the sun was setting, it couldn't stay out in the open too much longer. The rattler broke our standoff and made a steady slither towards the gap under one large, flat rock. As the front of the snake disappeared from view it relaxed and I could see the body deflate, hugging itself flat against the warm ground.

I couldn't believe it. A second opportunity in less than a half-hour. Putting my left foot forward again, I leaned over the rock and raised my hand for a swat at yet another rattler tail.

And flung my hand back as the front end of the snake, the dangerous end, came flashing back out from under cover, tail a buzzin'. In an instant, I had this in front of me:

Time to go...

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home