for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

25 May 2010 - 22:18

old drives

It was the old time solution to a modern problem... when something needs to be someplace else by tomorrow, well, you load it into your truck and start driving this way, I'll jump in my truck and head your way, and somewhere in the 127 miles in between, we'll meet and transfer the gear.

Sixty-one miles later I've got what I need. But I really don't want to just turn around and go home.

And I don't have to.

Don't know why it occurred to me. I've driven past there hundreds of times over the years. Literally.

But it's been over 25 years since I actually drove up that road.

This morning, I finally went up again. Surprising a sleeping feral horse

and a herd of pronghorn hanging up high.

These elk, too,

were surprised to have company in this high place, and began a steady four-mile trek towards the main mountains.

Me, I savored the views

and wildflowers

before turning around and grudgingly getting back onto the highway.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home