for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

06 April 2010 - 22:22

easter bee and bathroom etiquette

Okay, so here's one of those modern day dilemmas that never struck any of our ancestors:

I walk into the Men's Room at the Olive Garden, and here's a man actually using one of the diaper changing tables that have appeared in men's restrooms over the past 10-15 years.

Oookay. Fine with that. Wish they'd had those things when we had young'uns wearing diapers.

Then again, maybe I don't. The absence of a changing table was always a great excuse not to have to change diapers in a public place.

Oh, hey... did I let the cat out of the bag? Ladies, did you not know they install those tables in men's rooms too?

And your husband never told ya, did he? Clever fellow.

Aaaanyway, I walk in and this fellow has his back to me, and I swing over to use one of the urinals, on the wall ninety degrees from the changing table, and as I unzip, I feel...

Like I'm being watched.

And looking over my shoulder, I see the innocent, almost upsidedown face of a little girl looking at me from the changing table. And I'm not talking some oblivious infant here. This is a little girl, who later carried on her conversation with her Daddy, in complete sentences, no less.

Well, crap.

So someone tell me, what is the etiquette here? Should I have held back? I mean, I'm like two meters from this toddler, hanging loose, so to speak, in the point of my desire. I angled to my right, of course, so there was never any direct exposure, but I kept feeling these curious eyes staring at my back.

Should I have waited back by the sinks? Stepped into (as eldest son did) one of the stalls and made four times the racket, but at least have been in private?

This is all new to me. What is the proper way to use the men's room when a young lady is present?

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home