for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

17 October 2009 - 23:55

north station day 3

Despite my hectic hour of traffic during Friday's check station, I was again certain I could manage on my own on a Saturday, and sent my assistant off to wander afield, looking for hunters and their game.

Too bad I wasn't more specific in my instructions, since he wandered so far afield, almost everything he checked helped someone else's data.

Not mine.

But I was right... I was able to manage fine without his help.

Except for that one hour... when nine deer came in. But there is a big difference between 9 deer and 12, and I managed okay.

I was surprised when the first truckloads of deer came not from afield, but from town. Four fellows from California Fish and Game who had called several times for advice on where to hunt, and wanted to say thanks before they headed back west.

Having bothered one of our neighbors in town to try to find where I might be parked today. I don't know if it's a good thing or bad thing that people in town know my schedule well enough to know where I'm going to be parked on any given Sunday...

And right behind their trucks full of deer came a truck full of elk, also not coming down my highway but instead coming out of town, looking for me to check their game.

But other than that one hour around noon, it was a slow day. Just over 40 animals checked. With me spending the rest of my time watching hikers on the Trail

or aircraft flying over, either high

or low.

Until the cloudless end of the day.

( 0 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home