for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

06 July 2009 - 23:57

counting across the desert

The instructions say to have both routes run by the 7th of July.

Since you can only run one route a day, and I have two to do, things were getting close. Plan was to run the first one on Sunday.

The masked heeler woke me up a little before two in the morning. About an hour before my alarm was set to go off.

She had to go out. Prednizone, you see.

It was raining.

Can't run breeding bird routes in the rain. Or on muddy roads, for that matter.

I turned the alarm off when I went back to bed. And enjoyed a sleep-in Sunday morning.

But that meant, failing weather cancellations again, I had to get out today.

By four o'clock, I was miles from home. Listening to tape recordings of bird calls as I drove, alone on the dark highway. It was still dark when I arrived near my starting point, ten miles into the desert, and began looking for my big white rock...

Venus was rising behind me

as I watched the moon set in front of me.

Waiting for my exact 05:02 starting time. The thermometer said it was all of 41 degrees (F).

I was wise to sleep in yesterday. There were still puddles all along my route. Rare sources of water in this desert that drew in an unusual number of sage grouse. This year, I had 33 sage grouse on 8 of my 50 stops.

Last year I had none.

Otherwise, most birds I saw or heard were the standard five... sage sparrow, sage thrasher, horned lark, Brewer's sparrow or Vesper sparrow.

A total of 25 species when I was all done. A typical year.

Perhaps too late in the spring for some species.

I finished in four hours and twelve minutes. A record time, I suspect.

Amazing how much faster things go when you don't have heelers along.

And how much more boring.

I took a small detour on the way home, to check for frogs at an alkali lake in the desert.

Finding none.

Just some irate, nest-defending avocets.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home