for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

02 July 2009 - 16:10

upon second thought...

Good. So it's not just me.

Hidden back a couple days is a quickly outlined entry that I eventually decided I probably shouldn't post. 'Cause it might upset a bunch of people.

But apparently, I'm not the only one.

I am really, really, really tired of all the coverage of the death of...

Michael Jackson.

What, you thought I was gonna say Farrah Fawcett? Or Karl Malden? Maybe Ed McMahon? Or the host of other people who have died in the past week and left loved ones behind in mourning?

One of our friends lost his mother last week. Less than two weeks after his wife lost her mother.

Death is a part of life, folks. Hard on those who loved the ones lost.

But rarely world-wide news. I mean, on Friday I could hardly find any news articles on Iran. Every American news site I visit was overwhelmed with articles on the untimely death of Michael Jackson.

So I went to the BBC.

And they were full of him, too.

Geez.

I mean, who cares how or when his body was transported to the morgue? Or where it will be kept until his funeral?

He was an entertainer, people. Not a world leader. An entertainer who hadn't done much entertaining in the past six or seven years, other than the tabloid eccentricities of his child care (and child acquisitions).

And let us not forget the shenanigans of his child molestation trial.

Yes, I know. No guilty verdict.

I still would never have left him alone with any child I cared about. Or any I didn't, for that matter.

Is it macabre of me that I have enjoyed hearing his music played so much on the airwaves recently?

Probably no more macabre than the people who had to suddenly go out and purchase or download all those songs and videos that have been sitting around available all these years.

And it is sad there will be no more. Other than what is already recorded and stashed away, probably to be released in trickles and various anthologies, all designed to maximize income from sales. Like the rest of most of humanity, I will be looking forward to hearing the music he made for us before he passed.

And yes, I am curious as to why he died. But I am perfectly willing to wait a couple months for the tests to be run.

Then his death might be worthy of more news coverage.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home