for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

29 May 2009 - 10:56

under the gaze of snipers

So I just finished a half-hour phone interview. We'll see how well I did when it comes out "in print" on the internet sometime "soon".

This came about because the reporter's tape recorder (well, actually it was a digital recorder, but you know what I mean) crapped out and lost most of the interview we did in my truck and standing in the wind by a sage grouse lek earlier this month (one of those unwritten entries 'way back there).

He started out with one of the same questions he asked in the truck weeks ago..."Why are tall structures a problem for sage grouse?"

I decided to try out my "Sarajevo" sniper analogy, which I've used with others, but not a reporter.

Imagine you're in Sarajevo in the 1990s... I started out.

"Actually, I was in Sarajevo in the 1990s," he interrupts.

Geez. I mean, geez!

I no longer want to talk about sage grouse and wind power. I want to talk about why he was in Sarajevo in the 1990s, and what it was like to live and work under the potential gaze of ruthless snipers.

I want to interview him.

But this is his interview. He's the one trying to learn new things.

I continue talking about sage grouse... Well, then, you can let me know if I'm all wrong with my analogy...

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home