for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

31 December 2008 - 23:57

last sunset of 2008

I don't think I've kept it a secret here. My frequent disappointment with my Olympus SP-560UZ digital camera.

There are a myriad of small, annoying things I've encountered with this camera, things that were never issues with my previous two Olympuses. Most disappointing has been its incredibly poor captures of red and orange colors, particularly in sunrises and sunsets. I have even taken to tinkering with the hues and saturation of sunchange images posted here, something I never allowed myself to do before. But I had to do something. The Olympus images were just too feeble compared to what was really there.

And for some time, the wife has been suggesting that I buy a new camera, and pass the Olympus on down to eldest son. She especially reiterated this idea when eldest son had borrowed her Olympus, leaving her with nothing to record her memories.

When I came back to the car literally cursing the SP-560 yet again Monday evening, she repeated her suggestion. And yet again in the store on Tuesday.

So.

It is done. Following the wife's suggestion, we have below near-simultaneous shots of the last sunset of 2008, with no digital editing other than cropping and shrinking. One set with the old Olympus.

The other with the new Canon.

Olympus:

Canon:

Olympus:

Canon:

Olympus:

Canon:

It looks promising.

( 3 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home