for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

01 November 2008 - 23:58

sunburned in november

The largest deer of the day:

Also the only deer of the day.

Eight hours sitting on check station, and my tallies were:

1 deer

5 elk

and 2 CWD samples taken.

Not my worst day spent sitting alongside a highway. I've had days less productive. Certainly I've had days with worse weather. In the sixties, with hardly any wind. More like September than November.

If I remember correctly, last winter's November was unseasonably warm, too.

But a boring day, despite being pleasant. One crossword done and three magazines read. Along with two sage grouse reports. Go ahead, ask me anything about tardigrades. Or the prognosis for a vaccine against HIV (ummm, sorry, no). Or Obama's conversation with Petraeus.

The heeler sisters picked a good day to stay in bed with the wife.

Other than the boredom, about the only thing I had to complain about was the truck battery dying about a half-hour before sunset. Between the flashing light and state radio, I know better than to let it sit too long without burning some precious fuel for a while to recharge it. But every time I started the engine up, a hunter stopped by and I turned it off (not wanting to look wasteful).

And forgot to turn it back on. At least three times.

So it died.

Let the battery rest for fifteen minutes and tried again. It almost, allllmost started up.

But, no.

Since I hadn't had a hunter for over thirty minutes, I called home.

Youngest son was less than a mile away when I called to let him know I was okay, and had been jumped by a couple of my regular hunters.

C'est la vie. Or, Murphy's Law. Whichever you choose.

Oh, and hey, I got two more unexpected, unsolicited comments on my columns.

Wow.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home