for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

05 May 2008 - 23:47

last minute decisions

I was worrying about it when I went to sleep. And I was still worrying when I woke.

Where to go in the morning?

Strutting season is coming quickly to an end. So, so many leks yet to check. So few mornings. Even in the best of years there are leks that I never get to. But this year, with the late snowmelt, I'll be lucky if I get to half.

So... which half?

Physical access is always a concern. Some of my favorite strutting grounds are still out of reach because of unmelted snowbanks. Likewise for some that are newly discovered in recent years, which would ordinarily be a priority.

I had plenty of mud yesterday morning, and we had scattered rain showers last night, so I'd best stick to sand or rock for today. But do I go south and get a single lek off a rocky ridge, or head north and hope the mud over the Continental Divide isn't too bad? Or head northeast and stay on sand? There's always leks deep in the desert, too, hoping the snow and rain wasn't heavy out there.

I changed my mind, literally, over a dozen times. Finally went to sleep decided upon the single lek off a rocky ridge.

The smart move. The safe move.

Changed it again this morning, cruising the interstate less than 300 meters from my exit.

Continental Divide, it was. Mud or no mud.

There was no mud.

So. Five leks checked, with grouse actively using three.

For a total of 192 cocks, and 6 hens.

That's two and a half times the total number of males in all of North Dakota. On just three of my leks.

Yeah. They call us the "core" of sage grouse range.

Also found one of those rare, elusive mountain plovers.

And a bunny who's found the perfect eagle-proof shelter.

( 1 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home