for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

07 March 2008 - 22:09

interesting times

So far today I've spoken, on the phone, to:

5 hunters. All trying to make plans on where to apply for licenses for this Fall. Most had heard about our tough winter and were disappointed, but not surprised, when I explained what it might do to their odds of getting a license. And to their hunts, if they were lucky enough to get a license.

1 veterinarian. About elk and lichen, of course.

1 range expert. About another elk laying down. This time right next to the Interstate.

1 game warden. Two times? No, probably three calls. Maybe four. The elk lying down next to the interstate apparently just didn't mind traffic. He got up and trotted off just fine.

2 reporters. One of them twice, or maybe three times. The phone calls are all running together now. All about elk and lichen, of course.

2 campaign volunteers. One from the Obama camp, who soon apologized for being the fourth call I'd received from them. Claimed they were supposed to have their lists better organized than that. I didn't point out the first call was an illegal tape recorded campaign message from Michelle Obama. (Their campaign has already heard about those calls from the legal authorities.) I was politely ambiguous to the next two Obama callers, but for this fourth one, well, when he asked if I knew who I was going to vote for... "Sorry. Hillary." If you want my support, leave my damn phone alone.

Five minutes later the Clinton camp volunteer called. Before she could get out her questions, "Yes, I'm going to vote. Yes, for Hillary. Yes, I know where my polling place is."

They better not call again, or I may change my mind.

And finally, just a short while ago, a call from eldest son. Letting us know he's headed back home. Yeah. He drove 97 miles (in our SUV) to listen to Barack Obama in person.

"May you live in interesting times."

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home