for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

02 March 2008 - 23:46

the grouse at hand

A true "grouse pic".

I nearly ran over this little hen with my snowmachine yesterday. Came zooming up over a ridge onto a snow-covered patch of sage and suddenly she flushed up right alongside my sled.

The winds were steady around 30 mph with gusts to 50, coming straight from my right. As luck would have it, she flushed on my right side, and struggled against the wind. So the next thing I know I've got a sage grouse, wings and tail spread wide, gliding right beside my waist.

If I'd let go the handlebars and leaned real hard, I could have touched her.

Naturally I stopped and grabbed the camera. And soon discovered she wasn't the only grouse hunkered down in the sage, hiding from the wind.

And on the other side, behind me on my left, was a lone cock, his new breeding plumage whiter than the snow. Glaring at me, wondering what I was trying to do with his girls.

Strutting season is just about upon us. I'm sure he wasn't just thinking about the wind.

( 2 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home