for "Bonded"

for "Hooters"

for "Night Patrol"

for "On a Dare"

for "Best Journal (Overall)"

Daily Sights

our Honeymoon view

a tall mountain

a tall tower

a comic strip


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Want an email when I update?
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Newest
Older
Previous
Next
Random
Contact
Profile
Host

blizzard warnings - 13:52 , 03 October 2013

heelerless - 21:32 , 18 August 2013

Red Coat Inn in Fort McLeod - 11:38 , 23 June 2013

rushing into the waters - 09:53 , 21 June 2013

choosing a spot - 17:43 , 27 April 2013

26 September 2007 - 23:59

eight and a half quarts

It's a simple enough process.

You take your freshly picked peaches...

And dip them in boiling water to loosen the skin.

My sister said dip for 40 seconds, but at our elevation, I found a minute and forty seconds works much better. Then you cool them for a few minutes in cold water.

To be honest, I don't know if the cooling is a necessary part of the skin loosening process, or if it's just to keep you from having to handle hot peaches. Because that's the next step. Peel the skin off the peach, and cut it off the pit in thin slices.

The last step before freezing is to pour three cups of peaches into a 1-quart freezer bag. (Yes, I know there's only two cups in a quart. But a cup of sliced peaches has a lot of empty air, too.) Add sugar to sweeten and begin the formation of syrup (I used a half-cup per bag) and three teaspoons of a fruit preservative to keep the yellow color.

And that is how I spent my evening.

Alone. As the wife is in Central City for three days for a meeting. (And no, the little maskless heeler wouldn't eat dinner without her Alpha present.)

I enjoyed doing this by myself. It is the way my mother did this many times. I thought of her often during the process.

And these are peaches from one of her trees. Now frozen her way.

It's the best I can do.

Because I'll never again be able to eat peaches prepared by her hands.

( 9 comments on this entry )
previous entry || next entry
member of the official Diaryland diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home - Diaryland
the trekfans diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the goldmembers diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the onlymylife diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the unquoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the quoted diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home
the redheads diaryring: next - prev - random - list - home